BC Boards

First agility trial in April

The weekend of April 21/22 River and I will both be entering our first agility trial. It's a CPE trial and we'll be doing level 1 which is no weaves or teeter. Which is perfect since those are the 2 things she can't do yet. CPE is all about games and we've entered 7 of the 8 offered. We are skipping Jackpot because it requires the handler to stand behind a line and direct their dog. River has only recently started working on distance and I'd hate to set her up for failure. But the rest of the games sound like fun and are mostly handler brain taxing, lol.

I've been training in agility for just over 2 years now between 3 different dogs. River will have been 'officially' training 1 year in July, but of course I started her in the basics (touch, target, etc) since I got her at 8 wks. :rolleyes:

I'm assuming the DH will be attending so I should have pictures and maybe MAYBE a video. The trial is only 3 miles from my house :D

Question: Since at the trial she qualifies jump 16 but trains 20, should I have her jump 16 in class for the weeks leading up to the trail? And/or should I have her jump 20 at CPE, it's my choice. Of note, in every other club she will be required to jump 20.

River is 19.5".

CPE 16-20" dogs jump 16"

CPE 20-24" dogs jump 20"

Question: Since at the trial she qualifies jump 16 but trains 20, should I have her jump 16 in class for the weeks leading up to the trail? And/or should I have her jump 20 at CPE, it's my choice. Of note, in every other club she will be required to jump 20.