BC Boards

Agility handling (for someone with no experience)

Hi everyone! 

This is my first time posting on the boards so I'm sorry in advance if I say something stupid or unintentionally controversial. 

I have always wanted to get involved in agility (since childhood), and after much careful discernment and research, I have decided to get a border collie. I am not sure whether I would do agility competitively or not, because for me the priority will be working as a team and having fun together, but at the same time... I am kind of a competitive person and will probably take it fairly seriously even if it is for fun. 

I do not actually have a border collie (I am on the waitlist for a litter that is being planned - you can see how obsessed I am), but I think it would be beneficial if I could learn the basics of agility handling before I got the dog so that I have some idea of what I am doing and don't slow down the progress. 

How would you recommend going about this? Are there any resources that you know of that would help? Should I try to self teach? Are there programs that teach handling without the dog? 

There's actually a whole section here for dog sports, agility etc. 

Keep in mind that you cannot start training a dog in agility until he or she is at least 2 years old because it is too hard on the growing joints and muscles of a young dog. So you have plenty of time!