BC Boards

Left and Right Directionals (for distance work)

Have any of you ever trained left and right directionals on a fast dog for distance work? (Not really for wraps, but to indicate a direction of flow on the course)

I will say that I have been trained on handling systems that rely primarily on body language, using verbals as only secondary support.

But . . . it seems that with a fast dog, it would be good to have "insurance" directional cues in case he is way out ahead and I need to try to cue a turn when perhaps I might not be in the picture so much.

If so, how did you train them? In particular the foundation.

I think I am going to attempt this, even though I have never done it before. In the past I haven't really needed this, but I am thinking that I might with Bandit and want to start foundation training for it, so I am starting to educate myself on options.

I've done it successfully with one of my two current dogs (the boy!). My current girl - well, it's a work in progress; she barely has it on the flat/still, so I haven't tried on course - and she's not the fastest thing out there.

I just started right in front of my - dog facing me, luring around in a circle. Gradually faded the lure (down to a flick of a finger last!), then started it on either side of me, facing away from me, etc. When I took it to "equipment," I started with a hoop, so we didn't have to think about the jumping/bar part of it. He is SUPERB at these directionals! That said, if I happen to give the wrong command, it's body language that overrides it every time (though this hasn't happened often).

The previous dog had a superb "switch" - either just verbal or just body language. (Meaning: turn away from me.) She was super-fast, and that worked when a pull towards me wasn't the course.