BC Boards

Down stay - how far to train ?

Zoe

Dylan is 8 months old and I have been training him to "stay" since he was about 5 months. At home off leash he will stay downstairs for as long as I tell him while I work upstairs in my studio ( He can go where he likes downstairs but has his favourite place ). I generally have him do this for 2 hours in the mornings - he has his "rug" up there on which he can lie other times of the day. Also in the mornings when I get up he has to do a down stay in his bed for 5 minutes or so until I am ready to give him his good morning cuddle. I also use down stay when I vacuum ( he loves the vacuum cleaner - in the physical sense of the word ! ).And if I feel it necessary to get him from under my feet at other times. He is really good about all of this. Outside we have also been practicing. We have 2 big parks where we go and he is up to about 5 minutes in total - the routine varies but he can do a 3 minute out of sight combined with 2 minutes of in-sight with me standing watching him, walking a wide circle around him, walking past him etc. For these exercises I have him on a long leash which is attached to a stake in the ground. I make him stay by the stake and he could move about 15 metres in any direction if he wanted to, but doesn't. I feel his down stay is very solid. I am very careful to be in a position where I can see what is happening and if I think anything risky might occur, I make myself visible or move back to him. But he is fine with people singly or in groups walking past him ( in-front or behind ). He has had dogs off leash run up to him and try to play with him and has ignored them on 2 occasions. ( He knows these dogs and their owners as do I - if an unknown dog appears, I go back close to him ). Actually, in our parks you are not supposed to let your dogs off leash. In one park it would be dangerous because of nearby roads, in the other it is not dangerous but good manners. I feel like he could stay a lot longer