BC Boards

Novice Prep Camp Clinic

Many of you know my situation at this point, but for those of you who do not...

I am completely new to the world of herding. I'm a first time dog owner and my border collie is going to be two years old in just a few short months. We instinct tested him at 6 months and started weekly training lessons not long after. We've been on and off a lot, due to injury, but have been able to get back into it these past few weeks. This is something I'd really like to pursue with him so long as he's healthy to do so.

I was looking for clinics in or around my area and found this interesting clinic being offered up in idaho. http://www.patrickshannahan.com/pdfs/Novice%20Preparation%20Camp%202014.pdf

It's not exactly close by but if it would benefit us I'd be more then happy to travel the distance. I'm curious if this is the type of clinic perfect for someone like myself (i.e. super-novice with a young dog who shows very beginner ability on stock... nowhere near trial ready) or if I should maybe work with our trainer for another season before getting into a clinic like this.

I guess I could also call them and ask, but I figured I'd follow up here first and get feedback from the boards. I'm not sure if this is a type of clinic that's commonly offered and who exactly it's best for. Thanks!

I think you can not go wrong. Both are well known and there should be plenty of info. I assume they offer auditing as well?

But I would talk to your regular trainer to make sure the approaches line up somewhat. I found that too much differing opinions were confusing. Obviously it is in the implementation of any approach where you can decide how they will work for you.

If you do decide to go, keep us up to date. It should be very fun.

Dear Aspiring Sheepdoggers,