BC Boards

Now or Wait?

Hi! I am totally new to the Border Collie breed. All I know about them is what I have read (I've done tones of reading on them). I have a farm that I will be moving to a couple years down the road and I want to have a Border Collie when I move there. For right now I live at a place that also has tons of space for a dog to romp, and for me to play with, train, and exercise a BC. Plus I have a huge park just down the road about a mile and several other places I could take my BC if she/he got bored.

I am a very energetic person (run,bike, spend tons of time outside) and so a border collie would be perfect for me. Right now I have a friend that I go and work out with and spend a lot of my extra time with. But my friend is going to be moving away before to long and I thought that it might be time to start considering getting myself a BC.

My one concern right now is my job. I will be working 40 hours a week (might be able to work it so that this was broken up a little more if I knew far enough ahead of time to plan it that way) I don't want my BC going crazy while I am at work. I know when I am home I will be able to devote all time and energy to her/him, but I obviously could not while I was at work. So I guess my first question is.... How long is too long to leave a BC alone?

Second, would you all recommend waiting till I moved to my farm in a couple years to get a BC or would you recommend me going ahead and getting one now?

Would it be better to get two BC's so that the one was not lonely while I was at work? Or would getting two not fix the time at work issue?

Thank you for answering my questions!

Welcome to the Boards! It's great that you've joined before acquiring a dog. Keep reading and with luck and foresight you will forestall problems!