BC Boards

Handler question?

SS Cressa

I am not sure where any of my herding questions should go since we are still in the beginning stages and we haven't a clue how far we will advance.

But one question I have is... My background is agility training. I use my body to tell my dogs where to go. One thing I keep noticing specially when I get a video of my self is how often I combine my body language into herding and I notice when I do, I increase my dogs handler focus. This might be a silly question but is their any ways to correct myself? I know "stop" doing it. But most times I am not aware I am doing it or realize after the fact.

If you do cross disciples how do you keep each venues separate for one self?

I started my first dog Daisy in agility for a short period of time before we moved on to stock work. But really working your dog on sheep is different than any other type of activity you can do with your dog (agility, flyball, obedience, etc), IMO. It just takes time for "you", the handler to catch up with the natural instinct of your dog. Put your hands in your pockets and try to be "very still" in all of your movements. Not that you should stand in one place but try to put very little pressure on your dog by waving your arms about when they are appropriately/correctly moving the stock. Lots of practice! :)

I remember at my first clinic, the clinician kept telling me that we were rewarding the dog by allowing them to move the sheep and being very calm. Only making some sort of directing or correcting movement to the dog when we want to change what they were doing. It sounds a lot easier than it is to actually do.

I'm not sure if that helps at all... The other suggestion I would make, is if you have not already, pick a copy of a good stock work instruction book. Reading about how to start a dog and seeing diagrams may help you. A few a would suggest are:

Lesson from a Stock Dog by Bruce Fogt

Herding Dogs: Progressive Training by Virgil Holland