BC Boards

What to do with the world's laziest Border Collie?

I made a topic earlier about my merle border collie and how I was having issue with her. Well, now I'm updating on her condition and asking for anyone who has dealt with lazy border collies before, for I am new to owning such a lazy dog.

I took her to the vet to check for hip dysplasia, as I said I would earlier. It is a miracle. Her hips have like repaired themselves. The hip sockets are so much better now. Anyways, the bad part about that is now she has no excuse to her behavior. <_<

What usually happens is she comes running up to me like a wild woman, begging me to go out and train with her to the point where she is digging up my spleen. So, I end up going out with her while she really wants to work. Three weaves or obedience exercises later, she is asleep and acting like she has ran two miles in the desert. It is a cool day out as well, so it isn't like she is having a heat stroke. My seven-year-old, puppy mill dachshund with back deformities was outperforming her, ha ha. :rolleyes:

It isn't even like she doesn't want to do it, because she sincerely loves training, and she isn't getting bored. She just suddenly passes out in a few minutes. I've never had such a low energy dog before, especially with a breed like border collies. Any ideas on if there are new foods I should switch her to, or any one who has been able to work around this?

I guess I can deal with her behavior for now, but I'd figure I would ask you guys to see if you had a secret miracle cure bottled up somewhere :)

The very low activity tolerance makes me think cardiac...time for a chest x ray and maybe bloodwork?

She is a young new two year old and is not at all overweight. All muscle.