BC Boards

Nebraska/Midwest Breeder Recs?

Hi all!

I'm a newbie "registered" user but have been lurking on this board for awhile now.

What I am hoping to find here is some good breeder recommendations. I will ship a pup in if need be, but I'd prefer to find a puppy in/around Nebraska, Iowa, South Dakota or Kansas. This will be my second Border Collie; my first was an Irish imp x pet/farm dog that I purchased to try herding/performance events. She was hearing impaired, and I ultimately placed her with a family as a "pet" and under a spay contract after two of her littermates also did not pass their BAER test. This will be my first Border Collie to try herding and performance events with (I am aware that some here look down on participating in performance events, but I would like to try several different venues with my dog) and with that in mind I don't mind having a the pup in the litter with perhaps a more "loose" eye or just a pup that the breeder would be comfortable placing in a farm/pet home.

Also, has anyone had any experience with Holman's Border Collies?

You'll get this question at some point, so I might as well ask it now: why not consider rescue? Especially given what you'd like to do with the dog, rescue might be more likely to find a dog that will fit your specific needs.

This thread might be quite useful to you: Finding a performance dog, rescue or pup?

I have met and spoken with the director of the Nebraska Border Collie rescue at a herding clinic. I also have the MBCR & WYBC rescue bookmarked. All three I will certainly consider for a dog - however I also want to consider getting a puppy/young adult from a breeder. If you have any other rescue recommendations, feel free to let me know. I used the Border Collie "Directory of Rescuers" to find the above three rescues.

...(I am aware that some here look down on participating in performance events, but I would like to try several different venues with my dog)...