BC Boards

Noob questions

Please bear with me...

I'm becoming more and more interested in stock work and such. I don't even have a bc yet, but I'm trying to read up as much as I can on the breed and well, stockwork is a big part of it, obviously. It's very intriguing.

First question, there are two arena trials in my home town later this summer. I was thinking about going just to watch but would it be weird for someone who doesn't even have a border collie to go?

I just have no idea how to start getting involved and how to start learning other than reading these boards. Are there any ways to get involved without having a dog? Since I'm still in college a working bred pup will be out of the question for at least a few years. I think it would be very good for me (as a prospective owner) to see well bred dogs doing what the breed is supposed to do. I have a lot of breed experience but it's been with rescues and sporter collies primarily and I'd like to see the 'real deal' so to speak.

Also, is anyone active with the texas sheepdog association? Or just any stories about how you got into the sport would be great....

First question, there are two arena trials in my home town later this summer. I was thinking about going just to watch but would it be weird for someone who doesn't even have a border collie to go?

I just have no idea how to start getting involved and how to start learning other than reading these boards. Are there any ways to get involved without having a dog? Since I'm still in college a working bred pup will be out of the question for at least a few years. I think it would be very good for me (as a prospective owner) to see well bred dogs doing what the breed is supposed to do. I have a lot of breed experience but it's been with rescues and sporter collies primarily and I'd like to see the 'real deal' so to speak.

Hi Laurelin: