BC Boards

New Law Enforcement in Louisville

This is...frustrating, at best. I foster/rehome a lot of kittens throughout the year. These are kittens that are dumped at the clinic I work at, and/or little strays that I take in that either I find wandering the streets, or perhaps a friend of mine does. Sometimes they are bottle babies that I get from craigslist ads that people are trying to place in homes that can raise them. I've been doing this for two years, I carefully screen prospective homes, and a local rescue hooks me up with great spay/neuter prices, so they all go to their new homes fixed.

Louisville just started enforcing these permit laws, where you must get a kennel/breeding/animal husbandry license if you're rehoming animals and asking for an adoption fee. Yes, this even applies to rescuers, or people looking to rehome their dog for a fee. It is considered illegal to rehome any cat or dog under 4 months because they have not had a rabies vaccine. While I often get my fosters their first shots, and have them fixed, I am usually trying to place them before they get to be 4 months, because by then they're bigger and harder to place. The animal control officers are posing as prospective owners, and then inspecting homes, then laying down fines, sometimes taking the animals.

So, my efforts at doing a little good in this world have skidded to a halt. I do have one adult female cat I'm getting spayed and hopefully rehoming--with a rabies vaccine--but even doing this without a permit makes me anxious. I understand why they're doing this--to catch the puppy mills!--but this has brought my rescue efforts to a halt, which saddens me. I already have to buy a permit to breed/sell my snakes, which is something I have no problem with. They practically pay for themselves. The kittens do not.

It takes a hefty sum to get a permit-- $150+