BC Boards

First-time BC owner - Shadow chasing

Hello - My name is George and we live in Minnesota; I am new to this message board. We recently adopted Brody from a rescue organization. We suspect he is mostly a BC, but we are not sure. From what I can tell searching on-line, he looks a lot like a BC and his behavior is very similar. Per our vet, he appears to be about 1 year old. He is housebroken and does very well around the house without being crated. He tends to be a little reluctant to eat (explaining his low weight of about 33 lbs (although he gained 4 since we adopted him 2+ weeks ago), unless we sprinkle his food with some chicken broth, cheese, or other human toppings.

We previously had an American Brittany who was a great family companion for almost 9 years, but he recently became seriously ill with cancer (liver/spleen) and had to be put down.

We were very fortunate to find Brody through a friend of a friend, and he's been great for us. We are suburbanites looking for an active dog to play and walk with. He is our only pet and loves the attention he gets. We do find him to be very needy for that attention as he whines when we ignore him for too long, especially when he sees one of us leave the house. We've been providing him with play toys/pull toys to help distract him when we leave, which has helped to some degree.

We are looking forward to getting him outside more often to catch balls and discs, once the weather becomes a little more tolerable. He definitely has the energy to burn for more activity!

The only concern we have about Brody is his infatuation with shadows and how he seems preoccupied with them, especially at night. He doesn't seem to be affected during the daytime/daylight from shadows from the sun. Since we don't know his history as he was a rescued pet, we are suspecting he may have been neglected and left in a basement or some area that was dark and didn't have much light/activity.