BC Boards

Dog agression?

I know its not a BC but maybe you guys can help out with some suggestions oh how to go about dealing with her... She is a sweet dog otherwise but VERY dog aggressive with other females.. What should she do to try and fix this? She says the dog is perfect in everyother aspect, she has only had her for a week. She is spayed.

Any help?

Tara

I'm not a behavioral expert by any means, but I'd say get her to a good trainer to start. I don't know about where you live, but here you can get a one on one training session for about $30 an hour. Socialization will be important, but your friend needs to do it in a way that is safe for her dog and other dogs. Someone who works with dogs all of the time will be able to gauge how to proceed safely.

I'm not a behavioral expert by any means, but I'd say get her to a good trainer to start. I don't know about where you live, but here you can get a one on one training session for about $30 an hour. Socialization will be important, but your friend needs to do it in a way that is safe for her dog and other dogs. Someone who works with dogs all of the time will be able to gauge how to proceed safely.

This sounds like a case for Cesar Milan. :D :D :rolleyes:

I know its not a BC but maybe you guys can help out with some suggestions oh how to go about dealing with her... She is a sweet dog otherwise but VERY dog aggressive with other females.. What should she do to try and fix this? She says the dog is perfect in everyother aspect, she has only had her for a week. She is spayed.

Any help?

Tara

Get a certified positive methods trainer ASAP, if not sooner. I'm using a trainer with one of my dogs right now that has developed leash aggression and we are making great progress using positive reinforcement methods and desensitization (no Cesar Milan needed!).

Cesar Milan is good if you want to get bitten.... :rolleyes: