BC Boards

Novice question about Novice

Rosanne

Hey guys,

I've been working my boy on and off on stock for about 6 months now. It's been usually once a week, around my agility schedule, but he's made real, definitive progress every time I work him. I'm working with an experienced USBCHA trialer; she doesn't trial a lot now but has run several dogs in Open in her time and has a working farm with plenty of sheep and dogs of her own. I get on with her real well and haven't asked many questions here because, generally, I'm happy with my progress and she answers my questions.

I have an opportunity to let her keep my dog for a few days over the summer to really get his outruns down pat and settled. I ALSO have the possibility of working her sheep an additional time a week besides my weekly lesson, AND may get to farm-sit for her.

So. . . I was wondering about Novice/Novice.. . I am having trouble finding any real info about where it's offered online, and I understand it isn't a "real" class and as such isn't sanctioned, but it sounds like a good idea to start there and get some ring time when he's ready. Anybody have any resources to help finding where trials are that offer Novice? Would it be an easier idea to maybe start with some AHBA and then transfer to ProNovice when we're ready for that (probably not till next year since I'm still an agility person)?

How advanced was everybody when they entered their first trial, and what level did you start at? Did your dog actually listen at the trial or did they revert quite a bit? :rolleyes:

Hi Rosanne,

You're in luck, because you're in an excellent place for finding trials that hold novice classes. I believe the best resource for you will be the NEBCA (Northeast Border Collie Association) website: NEBCA.