BC Boards

Keeping injured pup engaged

Hello! I am new to the boards and so glad I found them! I adopted Molly when she was 14 weeks old. The shelter thought she was a lab/bc mix, but after looking at the pictures here and reading the boards, I think she might be a smooth coat. She's six months now, 30 pounds, sharp as a tack and wonderfully loving and loyal. She's almost perfect, except for the broken knee. She fractured it when we weren't home (my husband's grandmother was ill and we had to leave her in the backyard for the day). She's had surgery, and now she is stuck in the house for four to six weeks. She can't run, jump, go up/down stairs or get too active. Any suggestions for toys or games to keep her busy and engaged?

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated! She's my first bc. Thanks!

One unrelated question - does Picasa work for uploading pics to messages? I keep getting an error.

Hello and welcome,

Poor Molly, that sounds pretty painful for her. I am no expert, Holly is my first BC too but we had to be a little careful with her after her spay op. That was hard, she thought she was ok and wanted to chase balls as soon as she got home. We did more mind games with her really, teaching her new tricks and working on the sits, stays, downs and that. I don't know how mobile Molly is so it's hard for me to think of anything she can do. Kongs are quite good though and maybe feeding her (if she has kibble) in a training ball, so she has to do something to get her food out. Thinking dog = tired dog :rolleyes:

Sorry can't be more help and i don't know what Picasa is, i use photobucket for mine. :D

Poor Molly! :rolleyes: Hopes for a speedy recovery!