BC Boards

Not enough discussion/debate on this

Not enough discussion/debate on this topic:

Hip dysplasia - the topic only my professors seem to discuss in class. And when I bring up the topic of HD in dogs, they scowl and say all of us dog people are idiots. (Yeah, I am a pre-vet student, i.e. hoping to get into vet school one day).

But today I read this article:

http://www.stilhope.com/hipartical.htm

Clearly more debate and discussion is needed on hip dysplasia. But the topic is largely ignored, especially by breeders.

countryboy,

First off, welcome to the boards. Secondly there is pleanty of discussion of CHD here. If you don't know, Denise Wall is a forum member and member of the ABCA Health & Genetics committee. The ABCA has an on going study with Dr Todhunter at Cornell: Canine Hip Dysplasia.

What would you like to discuss?

Mark Billadeau (ABCA Health & Genetics Committee Member)

I would like to discuss the fact I am a whopping bonehead and forgot to make Nash's appt for the study. :rolleyes:

Do we need to coordinate or can I just make the appt when I am there with Lily this morning?

Clearly more debate and discussion is needed on hip dysplasia. But the topic is largely ignored, especially by breeders.

countryboy,

If you use the search function and search CHD, hips, or dysplasia (or all three), especially in the Health & Genetics section, I think you will find tons of discussion. Breeders certainly do pay attention as do many owners, especially of working dogs. It might be helpful if you were actually to peruse some of the threads on this forum before making blanket statements such as you made at the start of this thread. Once you have read through the numerous threads on the topic, then maybe you can post specific questions those discussions have brought to your mind.

J.