BC Boards

Puppy wieght

Hello everyone,

I was just wandering how heavy a bc puppy should be at 18 wks old Mack is about 10kg and 15inches tall . Is this about right as he's looking a bit on the thin side but then again he is really leggy at the min.

Holly weighed about that at that age but i don't know how tall she was. We tried to keep her on the leggy and thin side as was advised that is better. Although she wasn't a big eater then so it wasn't to hard. I think it's more to do with the look of them and Mack sounds right to me. (although i am no expert). Holly's mum was small but her dad was a big BC so she is in between the two sizes as an adult. I am led to believe there can be a lot of difference in adult size/weight. :rolleyes:

I know Holly has BC pals who are tiny compared to her and also ones who look really big near her so that must be right.

If you are concerned you could post some pic's of him then i am sure you will get some good advice on him on here. :D

Hi thanks i'm not really concerned as he's not ribby or boney i was just more curious i think and just wanted to make sure he wasn't on the light side but i guess he must be eating enough. :rolleyes::D

I will try to get some pics posted later or tomorrow. :D

He doesn't look too thin to me. The photo's come up a bit big when you enlarge them, i couldn't get him all in the same picture, had to move the screen around.

He's a lovely looking little boy. :rolleyes: I think he looks alright, it is a job to know, Holly is my first BC so i never was that sure with her. I have been informed that you should be able to feal the ribs easily with only a small layer of fat. That's what we base Holly on now. :D

:rolleyes: I wouldn't worry about it, it seems that if you have a prefectly healthy BC or BC mutt...... every one will try to convince you that they are to skinny..... but in all reality, everyone thinks that the fat dogs weigh just the right amount.