BC Boards

Question

Michelle K

Paula's question about size reminded me of something that I had been wanting to ask. This may be a silly question, but I'm just learning the working side of things. When I took Nykie on her first therapy visit, there was an elderly man that had his "purebred Border Collie" with him. Personally, myself and another girl was looking at the dog and we saw Great Pyrenees in him, because not only was he mostly white, but he had a blocky head and was about 75lbs solid. Anyway, that's beside the point. :rolleyes: The gentleman made a comment to a resident there that got me to thinking. He said that his dog could not work in the fields with sheep, because he was mostly white and the sheep didn't find him threatening enough. I always thought that it depended on the individual dog and how he (using "he" for conversation purposes) not only handles himself, but how he handles the stock that he's working. Have you found that color really makes a difference at all? Just curious. :D Thanks!

Michelle,

My husband, John has a dog (Jaax) that sounds like the one that you're describing. He's probably 70 pounds and mostly white, black ears, lots of black spots, medium coat and he's got dropped ears & a blocky head. He's never had a problem moving sheep, cattle, pigs, whatever.

His sister from a different litter is about 45 pounds, almost all black, dropped ears and rough coat and she's the same way.

They both move like Border Collies when they're on sheep, but if you see them off the farm you would think they were just some mixed breed. Neither one has had any problems moving livestock at our place or anywhere else we've gone.

Laura

Michelle,

My husband, John has a dog (Jaax) that sounds like the one that you're describing. He's probably 70 pounds and mostly white, black ears, lots of black spots, medium coat and he's got dropped ears & a blocky head. He's never had a problem moving sheep, cattle, pigs, whatever.