BC Boards

Pasture lambing

Parick H.

I have just finished breeding my 110 polypay ewes for may lambing in Michigan. The plan is to lamb between 6-10 ewes per acre set stocked on Alfalfa/orchardgrass pasture. I am a reletivly new producer, and want to know all I can about what to do during lambing. Right now my plan is to shear in the second week of April and to have ewes on grass by the fourth week of April I intend to paint brand ewes when I deworm and delouse prior to going to grass. I intend to check ewes 3x per day and process lambs as they come. (dock, casterate, spray paint numbers, dip navels, ear tag) Can those with experience please offer advice? I am particularly interested in how to avoid mis-mothering and what can I do specifically to attain the highest percent lamb crop under this system.

Bill fosher who is the owner of the forum Julie referenced, can give you great advice on high-production systems. I will be very curious to see how you do on the Polypays, set stocking them on grass. I had lousy luck with trying to lamb a small sample on pasture, but then I bought them already raised to expect grain.

I pasture lamb with a slight modification. I do use jugs for a day or so, as I lamb quite early. The ewes lamb out on the grass, however, and I move them post-lambing.

It's absolutely crucial that there be an attractive, clean, and sheltered area for the ewes to go to in order to lamb, and that it not be possible for the lambs to get seperated from Mom inthe first few minutes, if you are not able to watch constantly. Ie, they will lamb, most likely, at the back of your property - make sure the lambs can't bumble out of the fence or get lost in brush or tall grass.