BC Boards

Agility Foundation ideas?

I am doing beginner agility training with my BC (Dublin is 15mo).

Some things that I have learned are very important: a very solid off-leash recall, esp around distractions (I am still working on this one!) and having a dog that is very comfortable walking over different surfaces. Another thing that is really useful is having a dog that loves to play tug! It is a great tool for getting them to focus on you and is very useful in training.

As I said, I am a beginner and have only been training on equip for ~ 4 months or so, but these are some of the things I have noticed.

Hi,

Along with the Clean Run issue mentioned, there is lots to be found in the AgilityAction magazine...lots of foundation and puppy work scattered throughout all of the issues. If you subscribe, you'll get access to ALL of the back issues since it's an online magazine.

http://www.agilityaction.com

(this is done by the woman who does Laughing Dog Press...you know, the Church of the Diving Border Collie)

Michele

Obedience skills are the foundations to a good agility dog and thats what I always tell my classes. Work on getting that recall and to getting sits and downs in. 10 weeks is very young to be doing much yet but recalls will be the one thing that you can work on. Always reward your dog with a tidbit and buckets of praise when he comes to you.

As he grows you can then start teaching him to "go" to a target like a treat or a ball, as well as left and right turn. Working on the bond at this age is the most important thing you can do and you can achieve this by lots of one on one time playing with your puppy.

When he is a few months old you can teach him the tunnel and to walk over flat planks of wood on the ground which will get him used to walking over the contacts used in agility.