BC Boards

Dog Sitter?

I've never used a dog walker or sitter before, but I think I should acclimate my (potential) new dog to a care giver early, so I can be away when I need to without worrying. Anyone have experience with finding a good dog walker/sitter? And... what rates are you paying these days? I would really just need the dog taken out in the yard or on a brief local walk to empty his or her bladder most days, but might need in home care other times.

my dogwalker (Bay Area, Northern CA) was recommended to me by a friend who is a trainer with many years of experience. I do have them walk Gibbs every couple of weeks, and when I'm going to be gone more than 6 hours I set up another walk. I know he can deal with it, but if he gets a walk while I'm gone that long, he's much calmer when I get home.

I'd see if any trainers you've worked with, even if it was classes taken years ago, have recommendations. Or your neighbors might be able to refer you.

Good luck!

Ruth and SuperGibbs

I actually scoffed at the idea of dog walkers/sitters before, but eventually warmed up to the idea of having one. And now, I'm working as one myself.

I work in Brooklyn, NYC, and our rates are as follows:

Half hour walk: $15

Hour walk: $25

Half-day boarding with us: $30

Full day: $40

Overnight: $60

Those prices are pretty fair around here, but your mileage may vary based on where you live.

As far as finding a dog walker, see who is available in your area, and ask around. Experience, references, how long their clients usually stay, and if they've lost some, ask why. Depending on how big the company is, your dog may not get the same walker; the guy I work for has me, himself, and one other person, so all the dogs get the same person every time, but we try to socialize with them all to make sure they're all okay with us. Let the walker know if you have a preference, and ask for the same walker every time if that's what you prefer.