BC Boards

Finally, my personal training grounds, a few questions :)

Rich1317

Hi all,

I've been working with border collies for 13 years, including the last 9 for goose control. I've worked ducks more times than I can count and when I first started out, goats. I finally bought a house with a few acres and am so excited that I can fence off an area and get some sheep to work my dogs in our slow times and give them what they love to do.

I do have a few questions, I plan on having 4 hair sheep as I've heard they are easier to maintain. What size field should I plan on fencing? what dimensions should I aim for? One option I have on the property is a perfect rectangle. The other option is more pentagonish with a hill that has about an 8' drop over about a 40' area. That spot also would have a section about 75' long that goes along a road which makes me nervous.

My other question is how high of a fence? I want to keep in any sheep that might get spooked and make a jump.

I won't be starting any of this until the spring but I plan on getting a barn in Sept and the placement of that is dependent on where I fence for the sheep. Thanks for any help!

Several thoughts:

1. Four sheep are going to get pretty sour to work pretty quickly unless you plan to rotate them out and bring new sheep in on a regular basis (or you're only working them occasionally).

2. Contact your local Cooperative Extension Service agent to have your pasture assessed and to help you determine optimal stocking rate. If s/he gives you a rate for cattle, you can use the general rule of thumb that 1 cow/calf pair = 5 sheep. You'll also need to consider your willingness to supplement the forage if necessary (i.e., if you have more stock than the land can support) when determining how large an area you want to fence.