BC Boards

Weak new born lambs

HI guys, I'm a little new to sheep so if anyone can advise me I'd be very thankfull.

My dad brought the remainder of his sheep flock over to the main farm because theft and predation was getting too much, but now switching from Extensive farming to Intensive farming is throwing proving interesting.

Yesterday late afternoon saw twin lambs being born, a little weak, but we helped them to drink from mom. This am on inspection they are proving to be very weak and cold. We have tubed them and are trying to warn them in front of a heater. We gave them just pure cow's milk in the tube, about 30cc, luke warm, but is there anything we could add to his next "feeding" to help give him a bit of a `"kick start" so to speak?

`one of the lambs have unfortunately already died so we're kind of desperate to save no 2.

You might try the Edgefield sheep forum for detailed sheep care advice. It's just a simple 'bulletin board' format and it's usually quick to load. You can read the information there without joining, but you can't put in your own information without becoming a member.

There was recently an excellent, in-depth discussion of methods of saving lambs in the condition you describe, but you may have to search a little. I think it would be in the section labeled "Breeding and Lambing."

The host site is: http://edgefieldsheep.com

Perhaps this link to the Breeding and Lambing section will work: http://edgefieldsheep.com/bb/viewforum.php?f=4

Here's the best way to search the Edgefield site:

You can search for any string on this site using Google by simply starting your search string with "site:edgefieldsheep.com"

Good luck.

Liz S in foul fetid fuming humid hot central New York State USA