BC Boards

length of training sessions / training 'endurance'

Hi Folks,

I'm teaching Emmie some basic tricks using treats and praise as positive reinforcement. I'm pretty new to training dogs. As most of you know, I adopted her a bit over a month ago. At this point, she seems really settled in with her new home and routine and has really bonded with my me and my wife.

She came to me already trainied with basic obedience. I've taught her some basic games (rollover, hug, up (where I point to something and she jumpts up on it) and hide and seek, and of course normal, routine oriented things with living in hour house (where to go to the bathroom, where to sleep, what areas are off limits, etc).

Right now, we're working on distinguishing between objects by name ( we're using a rope toy and a stuffed toy and I'm working on getting her to pick up one or the other by name). This game seems to be more challenging to her than the other stuff I've taught her. She's caught on quickly to pick up one of the 'named' object from a group of unnamed objects, but struggles when both 'named' objects are present.

We've been at it for about 3 nights, and she starts to shut down after about 15 minutes. Even with only positvie reinforcement (treats, praise), I have to start really revving her up about 10 minutes in to keep her engaged, then after about 20, she's done. I saw this when she was introduced to sheep last week, too.

She seems to be nervouse about making a wrong choice and her body language (mostly lowered head and whale eyes) indicate that she gets a little stressed when she's not making the right choice. I was correcting her ( a soft 'no' when she makes the wrong choice), but I think maybe even that might be too harsh for her, so I've stopped correcting her at all during the sessions and just give her her success cue ('yes!') when she does the right thing. Even with no correction, she seems bothered when she makes a wrong choice.