BC Boards

The "right" amount of eye

ScoutTS

Please forgive me if I posted this under the wrong category; I could seem to find one that fit.

I'm rather new to the world of working border collies- having read and studied and audited clinics (without having a border collie to work with) for a few years now. I am looking for a trained dog and am excited about the possibilities- and have a few good leads. I'm lucky to have a few mentors that are helping to guide me through the process.

Oddly, I find myself confused about the right amount of eye that is desirable in a dog. I've seen very successful dogs (from a trial and practical perspective) described as having "very little eye", as if that is a good thing. Although I have also seen dogs with too much eye, it seems like those dogs are far less common. I would think that some eye is desirable; it is one of the hallmarks of the breed and it looks very stylish, too.

So what is it about the eye? Is it a matter of personal preference?

I have also heard that eye gets stronger as the dog matures, but a few other people have told me that is an old wives' tale.

a lot depends on how successful the dog is, a dog with a lot of eye has to also have courage, confidence and a understanding of what he/she is trying to accomplish to back it up. Eye will hold livestock, eye will attract livestock, especially undogged livestock or livestock that has been offended by dogs.

I think most importantly is that a dog with a lot of eye needs to learn when to use it and when to not use it, and that is learned over time by leaning the job along with all the tools that the dog has been given to accomplish the job. In some cases a dog with little eye will be more effective moving livestock simply because they are not accidently stopping the stock with their eye. But, that same dog may not have the same power and control over the mind of the livestock.