BC Boards

Stairs?

Hello! I have been reading the BC boards for the past 4 months or so and know i will get some good advice/opinions from the members. Our wonderful BC, Macs, is 9 months old. He is an amazing fellow...very quick to learn new commands and tricks, and has a wonderful lovable personality. We have taken multiple puppy/beginner classes and have also taken an attention and handling class with the hopes to enter some obedience trials. My question for all of you is, have you ever had a pup/dog that won't walk up and down steps? We have a house with 12 wood steps (no carpet, I am aware that might be some of the problem) to our second floor. He will hop up one step when we are outside to get on the back porch but that's as far as we get. Any advice or suggestions? Thanks!

While I'm no expert with training dogs, I had to deal with something similar when I first got Caleb at 11 months-- although he was fine going up one or two steps, any more and he was terrified. Living on the second floor in an apartment building, there was no way I was going to carry him up and down all the time.

What worked for me was having him on a leash, then picking him up and placing him in the middle of the stairs-- he would need to choose to either go up or down, and I would go whichever way he wanted to with lots of praise and treats. He eventually got it after a day or two, and now goes up and down stairs two at a time.

While I'm no expert with training dogs, I had to deal with something similar when I first got Caleb at 11 months-- although he was fine going up one or two steps, any more and he was terrified. Living on the second floor in an apartment building, there was no way I was going to carry him up and down all the time.