BC Boards

first time training

Koda

Hi. My name is Robert and this is my first posting. I am not new to dog ownership, but this is my first attempt at any kind of actual training.

Koda is a pure bred black and white border born 6/17/2000. He has already proven to be a great family dog with a good temperment. He makes friends of strangers well (human strangers, that is) and happily puts up with all of the "abuse" that my 2 year old daughter and her friends can dish out.

We have been training on a daily basis for about three weeks now and Koda has shown great progress with "sit", "stay" and "come" commands and has even shown some understanding of the "heel" command which we have just begun working on. For our "fun time" he lives to chase the tennis ball which he returns faithfuly on every throw. He picked up on all of the above readily and makes daily progress on his consistency with obeying, but the one thing I cannot even get him to consider is to release his tennis ball after he returns it to me. He will sit politely about six inches in front of me holding the ball in his mouth as if he is ready for more more more... but will not release the ball.

If anyone has any advice at all on this issue I would be most grateful.

Thanks very much,

------------------

Robert and Koda

Metairie, LA

Hi, I have heard of people using a second toy to get the dog to drop the first one, when he comes and sits in front of you, you give what ever drop command you use then show him the other toy, when he drops the first one praise him and throw the second toy,pick up first toy and go on. this is what a friend had to do i never tried it as mine knows if you don't give we don't play anymore. Tina

Tina and Jennifer,

Thanks a bunch for taking time to answer me!