BC Boards

trainer

SS Cressa

I might be going back to MT for the summer break (May-Aug). That is around the time I was hoping to start seeing if Valek (my pup) is interested in working livestock. He will be 7 months In May.

I was just curious if anyone knows a good instructor out that way? I will be in eastern MT. Close to the ND border. I am about 6 hours north of WY.

Would like to keep working with Cressa also.

I work in a shop out in eastern MT located in a cattle ranch. Not sure if that matters or not. The owner has given me permission to work his cattle if I want.

I don't know anyone out that way to make any sort of recommendation but I would give a word (or few) of caution about working someone's cattle.

First, what are the cattle like? Cows with calves? Steers on pasture or feedlot? Are they fairly docile or rather flighty? Are they used to being handled a lot or are they range cattle? Cattle are cattle, but just like dogs are dogs, there can be a world of difference between different groups of cattle due to differences in breeds, age/gender/reproductive status, and environmental/handling situations.

Second, are the cattle dog-broke (or accustomed to being worked with a dog)? If they are not, will you be planning on dog-breaking them (or teaching them how to respond to the pressure a dog would put on them)? There are right ways and wrong ways to dog-break cattle. And, since both you and your dog are novices, this could pose problems (and see #3).

Third, what is your experience with cattle, or how well do *you* understand how cattle think and react? Are you prepared to understand the livestock yourself before you ever expect your dog to be able to cope with them under your direction?