BC Boards

Working/Playing on a Long Lead

Skye's recall is not 100% (working on it), so I never allow him off-leash in unfenced areas. I'm thinking of getting a long lead to be able to take him to the park to play fetch, and to work on his recall. But I've never worked with dogs on a long lead before, nor watched anyone do it, and I'm a little nervous. Don't they get tangled up in the lead at all?

Anything I should keep mind or be aware of before trying it? I assume I should choose a large, grassy area without any obstructions like trees or stumps, and without other people in the area. Should I hold the lead at all times, or just step on the end of it?

Any particular type of lead that's best? How long of a lead shoud I buy? I've seen up to 100 ft. I was thinking of buying a long one, but only using part of it at first and gradually working up to longer distances. Any particular way to feed it out or reel it in to avoid tangles and knots?

Thanks for any advice!

Hi! I have a 30 ft one, I feel like it would be nice if it were a little longer. 30ft doesn't seem like much when a very leggy, loping running dog is on it. One thing to keep in mind is you don't want the dog to run really fast and then choke itself when it hits the end, so when I used it the dog was in a front harness. Also, he was taught by giving a little tug and saying a cue when he was about to hit the end of it, so he would turn around.

I generally kept the long line dropped but close to me, so I could pick it up if I needed to. You generally want to avoid areas where it's going to catch on things, because that can be a pain.

I have yet to find an effective way to avoid the dog sometimes getting tangled up in the lead. :P

I'm interested to hear the responses, as I want to buy another one for future use/hear what other people have to say about how they make it work.