BC Boards

Giving an effective correction

Pippin's person

I've been working with my dogs for a very short time (about a year) and am thus a complete novice (and had zero prior exposure to livestock). I'm training with an Open handler and we alternate working my dogs, so that they have as much exposure to someone who knows what she is doing as to someone who is learning.

My question is about corrections. My year old dog (and the one who shows the most talent at the moment) occassionally hot rods around--he usually calms down with a verbal correction. Last night while I was working him, he singled out a lamb, split it off and harrassed it--he didn't grip it, but he was clattering his teeth as he ran by. By the time I could catch him to correct him, of course, it was long over (at least long over in his mind).

I chewed him out verbally and took him away from the sheep for a few minutes, but I'm sure it wasn't effective.

Of course, the optimal case is not to let this happen, but given that they are so much faster (and smarter :rolleyes:, what is an appropriate and useful way to handle that kind of behavior if you weren't able to prevent it or catch it in the moment it happened?

Thanks

Robin

This is the million dollar question!

The good trainers seem to almost always "prevent it or catch it in the moment it happened", don't you think?

One thought from someone who is still learning: If you can identify the situations that cause the trouble, don't avoid them. Set them up repeatedly and be prepared to catch the little devil in the act. Somehow it's better to let the dog make the mistake and then teach it not to do that (perfect timing and response is needed here, I'm afraid) than it is to simply prevent/avoid the bad behavior. Do you know what I mean?

Sorry if that's obvious. And I know it's easier said than done.

charlie

Yes, I guess that's what makes them good handlers...