BC Boards

Small field syndrome

I've been a lazy trainer and in the past depended on others too much to correct issues. Something I've noticed is that if I let too long a time go by between getting out to new places, and especially larger areas, my dogs will gradually lose their nice natural feel for hidden sheep. They recognize the "trial field" setup and it will LOOK like they are looking for sheep when I do get into a trial field, but I can tell they are just going on habit. My previous trainer would just grumble, go do something to fix it, and then I'd have my "Big field" dog back again for a while. I never got around to asking him what the heck he was doing and now he's gone.

I know I can encourage "big field" habits even in small fields and the rot doesn't have to set in - Jack Knox says "if it's right at hand it will be right out there." I know several good handlers who don't have huge fields.

How do you all keep a fine edge on your dog's ability to look for sheep in different situations - and how do you maintain a "big field" mentality in a little field operation?

How do you all keep a fine edge on your dog's ability to look for sheep in different situations - and how do you maintain a "big field" mentality in a little field operation?
I'm not sure this will help but one thing you can try is to look for situations where dogs will need to run out with more scope to find all of the sheep and use those situations when you can. As in, get it in your head to recognize whenever the sheep are up in a corner where they usually aren't or spread out across the field in a challenging way and then go get your dog for a quick gather. If you let your pasture grow up to seed out and it's hard for the dogs to see, use that as a training opportunity along with whatever real work you had planned.

Build in a command for a wider outrun from your feet and for a wide redirect if they start out running too tight. Use the sheep to teach them.