BC Boards

Chase's Agility Training

I've been training Chase in agility for about 10 months now. The teacher seems to be taking it slow. I kinda like that. Doing lots of targeting, jumping exercises, some low obstacle work, etc.

I have trained and titled my aussie in agility, so I do have some experience. It was such a breeze with her, it seemed so easy.

But now there's Chase the BC. I think I'm finding out that agility isn't as easy as I thought :rolleyes:

Chase is motivated by ball/toy so that's his reward. He is familier with the clicker, we use it for targeting and also in his obedience training.

My questions:

1) What I'm noticing now is that Chase will skip 2-3 poles at the entry, or pop out halfway through. Looks like he "cheating" so he can get his reward faster. Maybe he's too excited? Am I not requiring enough of him before rewarding? (he never gets his toy/ball if he's wrong, we try again until he nails it) Is focus too much on reward and not the actual obstacle?

2) Am I really noticing that he is sensitive to my position in relation to him, a jump or obstacle? For example, if I'm standing too close to a jump it seems like it pushes him away from it...? Or is he making up his own mind and positioning himself for what will come next? (Hope that makes sense.)

3) He is ridiculously fast. He's 35 lbs. of lightening streak! (Geesh, I know I'm older and slower since I ran my aussie but I didn't think I was that bad.)

How in the heck can I get where I need to be to tell him where to go? I can give verbal commands but he's not fully trained and is not reliable about those yet. My gosh, am I thinking too slow for him too? :D He thinks he knows where to go be he doesn't and he usually ends up making his own decisions, which BTW, are usually wrong at this point.

4) Will all of thise come together for us with practice, experience and time? I don't remember it being so hard. ha