BC Boards

Whistle Training

Jake, now 5 months old, is a very smart and quite obedient puppy....most of the time. :rolleyes: Since Thursday, we have been going to the newly opened dog park in our town. The first day we went we had the area all to ourselves, which was GREAT! He had a ball being able to run and jump, off lead. WOW, is he FAST! :D One draw back is it is located near a major highway. I was having a hard time being heard over the tractor trailers and cars screaming past. While trying to call him back to me, I got to thinking how I could get his attention (while doing the flamingo dance and whooping about).... when I remembered reading about whistle training! For those of you that don't know, Jake is a rescue and my (our) first puppy. Yes, we knew what were getting into with a BC... :D

I had kept the whistle that my Mother had carried on her keychain. She passed away last October. On Friday morning, I started training Jake to come to the sound of the whistle. Whistle, treat, whistle treat...a little distance..whistle, treat. He got it in no time. :D Today, we tried it at the park, EASY COME! Even while other dogs and distractions. SOLID RECALL! :D

Around 11pm, DH took Jake out for his final walk, and after coming into the house, he had directed Jake to come find me. It's a nightly routine. DH thought all was clear when he went to put the garage door down...it wasn't! Like a flash, Jake was out!! :D DH called for me, "THE DOG IS LOOSE, HELP!" :D I didn't think twice. I ran, grabbed the whistle off the coat rack, and immediately started blowing while running into the driveway. In a matter of 5 seconds I could hear his jingly collar, then I saw a very excited puppy barreling at me! I gave him loads of praise while looking at my DH, who had tears in his eyes. We were both so releaved that Jake was safe!!