BC Boards

Retired Open dog for new handler

D Strickland

Hi,

I have been training for 4 years and competing for 2 years.

My first dog, which I started myself, is now running in Ranch/ProNovice ( 1 leg of the drive ). My next dog is only 6 months old and is not ready to start yet.

I was offered an 11 year old retired Open dog from a top handler. I was told that he is not as quick as he used to be and would have problems keeping up with really light sheep that try and run off but other than that he would be a great teacher for me.

Is this something that I should consider ? What are your thoughts ?

Thank you,

A well trained, healthy, open dog at age 11 would be of use to you to learn. You have to decide if all those factors are there.

A dog thats feeling its age and can't get to where it needs to be promptly tends to either give up, or cut corners. If fitness is the only problem you can fix that, but if other things....well, you aren't going to learn right working a dog that is struggling. Plus its not fair to the dog.

You have to make the decision on an individual basis. At baseline I would want a full vet exam, including a BAER test to look for age related hearing loss.

A well trained, healthy, open dog at age 11 would be of use to you to learn. You have to decide if all those factors are there.

You have to make the decision on an individual basis. At baseline I would want a full vet exam, including a BAER test to look for age related hearing loss.

Never thought of the BAER test ... thanks. I now have to find someone that can give that test.

Dave S

www.outrunbc.com

Hi,

I have been training for 4 years and competing for 2 years.

My first dog, which I started myself, is now running in Ranch/ProNovice ( 1 leg of the drive ). My next dog is only 6 months old and is not ready to start yet.