BC Boards

Shaping

I'm new to clicker trainer, but it works really well and I have a good instructor. Lucia was taught some shaping skills with the "yes" command. It worked good and she's a smart girl, picking up on things quick. The clicker works a bit better and a lot more accurate, although I still use "yes" when I see something I want and don't have a clicker handy. Tonight I started teaching Grady fetch. He will chase anything I throw, but all he does is run and touch the object and run back to me without it :rolleyes: It took all of 10 min to teach him to pick up the ball and bring it back using the clicker. It's never taken more than one session to teach him anything :D

He now continuosly picks up his tennis ball and thows it at me......over and over and over and over and over............ :D

I had a similar experience with my baby ACD. I clicker train her and my BC and I was setting up the tunnel to do some agility with my BC when I noticed my baby ACD going through the tunnel for the first time so I clicked and treated. It took one click and I created a monster. She now rushes through the tunnel at break neck speed and comes to me for her reward. She will do this endlessly even as I am trying to unfold the tunnel!. I have to be carefull what I click with my lot!

I would probably shape him to throw the ball into a basket or something! :D

Currently all the tennis balls are hidden :rolleyes: but teaching him to throw them into the toy box is a good thought. I have toys EVERYWHERE and get tired of picking them up.

Grady is a lot of fun to train. Quick to catch onto things and loves to learn. Lucia on the other hand can be frustrating. She learns quick, but is stubborn about it. The whole "SIGH....do I have to? Really? I guess."

Grady is a lot of fun to train. Quick to catch onto things and loves to learn. Lucia on the other hand can be frustrating. She learns quick, but is stubborn about it. The whole "SIGH....do I have to? Really? I guess."