BC Boards

In defense of AKC...

TAC2

As a newbie here I realize I'm going out on a limb here :rolleyes: but I'd like to share my opinion on the AKC debate anyway.

First a perspective on the AKC. The AKC was founded by a group of "sportsmen," probably affluent, at the turn of the 19th century to compare their best dogs for bragging rights. Another club, the UKC (United Kennel Club) was also founded around the same time for the same reasons. While the UKC is still in existence and supports many activities like the AKC, the AKC became the pre-eminent "brand" for the purebred dog...because it is FIRST and foremost a BUSINESS and its product is its registry. The shows, trials, titles, magazines, philanthropic and lobbying activities are all "value added products."

The AKC was incorporated in the State of New York on May 19, 1908. Its mission statement (as shown on the current website): "The American Kennel Club is dedicated to upholding the integrity of its Registry, promoting the sport of purebred dogs and breeding for type and function. Founded in 1884, the AKC® and its affiliated organizations advocate for the purebred dog as a family companion, advance canine health and well-being, work to protect rights of all dog owners and promote responsible dog ownership." Its stated objective: Advance the study, breeding, exhibiting, running and maintenance of purebred dogs. They are the first to say that the actual breeding, buying and selling are the provinces of the individuals, and they are strictly hands off (for liability issues I'm sure.)