BC Boards

do you think this is anything to worry about

redterra

Hi my border collie benji seems to be shedding a lot of hair over the last few weeks, i had a word with the vet on the phone a couple of weeks ago and she said he might just be getting ready for his winter coat, but in the last few days i have noticed this on his leg, it seems to look quite dry close up and it has gone bald there, wondering if someone can help sorry about the picture is not the best. thanks

a picture of his leg and one of him normally, hes 12 months old by the way.

post-8729-1225775090_thumb.jpg

post-8729-1225775726_thumb.jpg

Hi, I'm new to the BC world, but my golden retriever used to lose her hair along her back every spring. It would come out in big clumps. We put it down to a grass or pollen that she would roll in. The answer was a wash called Mallowwash which came from out vet. A real pain for her and us, but it worked every year. Not sure if this would be the same with Benji. Try the vet.

Good luck. Lisa

Hi my border collie benji seems to be shedding a lot of hair over the last few weeks, i had a word with the vet on the phone a couple of weeks ago and she said he might just be getting ready for his winter coat, but in the last few days i have noticed this on his leg, it seems to look quite dry close up and it has gone bald there, wondering if someone can help sorry about the picture is not the best. thanks

a picture of his leg and one of him normally, hes 12 months old by the way.