BC Boards

Biting Sheep

spinwool1

Hello All,

I recently adopted a youngish female BC started on sheep. I am new to being a shepard and therefore training BC's too.

I had her here about 6 weeks before my three sheep arrived ( not dog broke ) . I waited several days to take her into the pasture with the sheep and during that interval, she cruised the fence perimeter ( electric fence ) and would do her thing, eyeing them, crouching and dropping on her belly.

When we went into the sheep, she commenced to chasing them, not responding to my corrections very well and indeed, nipping and actually biting one on the flank.

With that, I got her to stop and removed her from the pasture.

We haven't been back since, as I am reluctant to do anything that will create a bad habit, and I'm not sure what the next step is.

I thought about going in with her on a lead, but it simply prevents her from doing anything.

Someone suggested putting an electric collar on her which I'm opposed to doing.

I'm open to suggestions,

Kathryn

Call the person that started her, and get them out to help if possible - and if you can't get them, see if they will recommend someone to come out. 3 unbroken sheep and 2 novice herders are not a good recipe.

The e-collar is a powerful tool that should only be in the hands of someone with experience, in a situation where the dog is clear on exactly what he is being punished for. Even then there can be fall out - fear, redirected aggression (to the handler or the stock). I wouldn't try it if I were you - this is a started dog, a *baby* and if you get it wrong she will be ruined for life.

They did a review of the shock collar with the top sheepdog trainers for Working Border Collie magazine. In 100% of the the responses, the trainers did not believe it was a valid tool for these dogs and usually caused more harm than good.