BC Boards

Help with Border/Lab Pup

Hi:

I am new to the discussion forums and I hope I am posting in the right place. I have an 11 month old labrador/border collie mix pup that I adopted from a shelter at 3months. He is extremely intelligent and gorgeous but a huge handful. He bites and growls at me and my mother when we walk him on the leash. He gets along very well with other dogs, but also tries to bite them or put legs/tails in his mouth during rowdy play. He insists on putting the leash in his mouth and tries to play tug of war whenever we go for walks. I have tried bitter apple spray, but it's only slightly effective. I know he is still a puppy, but I really need help to make him a liveable companion. We went through puppy kindergarten and beginners obedience classes, but he gave me a hard time always jumping up and biting the leash/growling and generally not listening. How do I give him enough exercise? I'm coming to the end of my rope and really hope some of you border lovers can give me suggestions on how to handle my part-border pup. Thanks so much!