BC Boards

Stuck in First Gear

I have a 15-mo rescued male Border Collie. He was tested in April and showed great talent. Worked very well for the trainer/tester. Since then, we've been able to go up approx 1/week to train/practice with dog-broke sheep. Now, almost 3 mo later, we're probably no further along than when we started.

Bottom-line is probably this: he has terrible "downs" in the field. Sometimes will; sometimes won't. Works too close to the sheep. His "away" is nice and wide; his "come by" is too close in. (and he doesn't really know what those mean anyway)

I'm a novice and reluctant to teach him by threatening and yelling at him. He now will not work for that trainer at all; he runs for the gate if that trainer tries to work him. He's extremely sensitive to correction -- probably related to being a rescue dog.

Is threat/yelling/intimidation the only way to train for this work? Am I babying him too much (trainer thinks i am) ? Should I find another trainer? Just give up?

How can I teach the minimum he seems to need (a good stop even in the field WITH the sheep) without being what I consider to be abusive?

[thanks for your input.]

I have a 15-mo rescued male Border Collie. He was tested in April and showed great talent. Worked very well for the trainer/tester. Since then, we've been able to go up approx 1/week to train/practice with dog-broke sheep. Now, almost 3 mo later, we're probably no further along than when we started.

Bottom-line is probably this: he has terrible "downs" in the field. Sometimes will; sometimes won't. Works too close to the sheep. His "away" is nice and wide; his "come by" is too close in. (and he doesn't really know what those mean anyway)

I'm a novice and reluctant to teach him by threatening and yelling at him. He now will not work for that trainer at all; he runs for the gate if that trainer tries to work him. He's extremely sensitive to correction -- probably related to being a rescue dog.