BC Boards

let's talk outruns

kelpiegirl

Since there are several young dogs in training with their owners, and we all hang on this list- can we talk about outruns?

First, what is the outrun on your dog like, what are the strengths/minuses? What have you found most helpful in improving (if they need it)? What about eye- anyone care to talk about eye and it's effect on outruns? Do dogs generall get wider as they get older, or is their cast set in stone as it were? Anyway, any information is greatly accepted!

Julie

Ooo, outruns. My favorite topic. I have noticed something I'm curious about with Taz's outrun.

Background: I'm a novice, as is Taz, even though he turned 3 a couple of days ago. We've been working together for a couple of years, but with inconsistent training. Taz is a fast, tight-running dog whose tendencies have been allowed to form habits due to my noviceness (cluelessness in how to change things). He also has tended to overflank before doubling back to find balance. But I've been working a lot with him lately with a trainer and I'm pleased to say that he's now coming along nicely. Anyway, Taz's outrun is generally looking pretty good these days during lessons--he usually bends out at the beginning and then checks in with the sheep and adjusts his trajectory accordingly.

I've noticed, though, that he still runs very tight when we are in a smaller arena-sized area. I think this is because he feels more pressure within the smaller confines of a fenced-in area. Other factors that probably contribute to this tight running include just being in a new place and me handling him by myself, without my trainer there to "back me up" (she sometimes checks him with a "hey!" and my own "hey!"s are not always as effective). Besides trying to work in as many places as possible on my own, is there anything I can do about the way he responds to the space pressure?