BC Boards

Border Collie w/ AIHA

SeinkosMom

Seinko is 7 years old and was diagnosed with Autoimmune Hemolytic Anemia this past weekend. She received a blood transfusion to save her life on Saturday. They put her on prednisone, imutran, doxycycline, and another medicine to coat her stomach. She's been to see her regular vet as of yesterday and we're in the process of adjusting the meds to reasonable level to avoid nausea. I'm just looking to see if anyone here has an AIHI BC and has any advice/tips besides the meds on how to get her beyond the crisis stage and onto recovery...and hopefully, remission.

Thanks

Hi,

I dealt with this many years ago with my bc. Mine was so ill that it was touch and go for about a week. He received several blood transfusions and I cannot remember all the meds he was on, since he remained hospitalized at the veterinary school at NC State for the duration of the crisis. I was a vet tech for years and never felt so helpless as when my guy had this illness. There was nothing I could do other than provide moral support. It sounds like you are doing everything you can. Best of luck.

Thanks -

Yes it seems to be very much touch and go....one minute I think she's doing better, the next her condition seems to be deteriorating. The ER vet did a great job bringing her back but offered a very gaurded prognosis. He said, typically, life expectancy with treatment is two years....I'd like to think that's not always true. Anyway, it sure puts things into perspective...a week ago I was annoyed that there was fur all over the house because she's shedding - now I've got it all over me and I could care less!

Thanks for your reply....

SeinkosMom,