BC Boards

Goats for training my new dog

CT W

I have a year old bc that we just bought a few months ago that was started on sheep and a couple of goats. I saw her do some of the basics when we bought her. Come by, lie down and a few other things. She did lie down well but she seemed to go a bit too direct to the animals when they sent her out with come by. I should say now that I am new to this too. 

Anyhow, I am trying to figure out what to buy to train her on. We eventually are planning on using her on our hog farm, but in the meantime are thinking of buying goats to use for training her with. Possibly Nigerian dwarves that we can sell for meat (maybe milk them at some point) when we are done training her. However we are not dead set on these. We mainly just want to get an animal that we can at least get the animal cost back out later (or as close to it as possible...). Also, we have some blackberry bushes and brush along the fence lines that we thought we could potentially use the goats to clear up when not in use for training.

We have a family member that said they would be willing to help us out by providing four buckling (right word?)  Nigerian dwarves in a month or so when they are weaned.

Any suggestions? We are about an hour and a half east of Portland, OR. We get hot dry summers and usually cold and often times snowy winters. Just like everyone else money is a factor, not the only one, but definitely one of them.

Thanks,

C

Hi and welcome!  It's nice to have an actual training question after a long drought.