BC Boards

car stalking

I'm new to Border Collie training and have a 11 week old puppy. I am concerned about my Border Collie around cars. When I take him out for walks/runs in our field the occational car will go by. He now has started to intently stare at the cars. I will tell him that'll do and gently pull on his long lead to get his attention and treat him when he comes back to me. Occationally I will have to block his vision to try to get his attention and once he tried his best to look around me. I just want any suggestions so I can get this stopped now.

Thanks in advance.

Hope

You'll probably get more answers if you post in the "General Border Collie" section. This section is mainly for training working stockdogs.

It's good that you're catching this sooner rather than later - it's a good behavior to nip in the bud. Border collies can develop obsessions about things pretty quickly, and of course this is one you want to avoid like the plague. I'm sure people will suggest the "look at that" game from Control Unleashed.

I had one pup who tensed up around cars; I could tell he'd like to chase them, and he'd pull on the leash in an effort to follow them. I got all kinds of suggestions ("reverse direction", "treat him to get his attention", etc.) and most didn't work very well - he has a fairly high prey drive. I found keeping him away from traffic until he'd matured a bit worked better than anything else. (And yes, I had to completely rethink where I was taking him for walks). He now ignores cars.

At around 4 months, my pup started lunging at passing cars while we were on walks.

I came down on her hard when she did this, with a very forceful 'NO!'