BC Boards

BC Pup biting

Hello all, new here so hi! :)

My question is, the biting with puppies, does it end?! Snapping at ankles etc, he's only 8 weeks old so I'm wondering if there's anything we can do to stop it? Or do they grow out of it?

Many thanks!

Mike

Hi LokiBC

I am new to the wonderful world of BC's also. Our darling girl Lilli is now 12 months old and when we first brought here home, I spent a lot of time on these forums. The advice you will get from these fantastic, experienced people is very valuable.

In my experience, yes they do grow out of it and Lilli has. Lilli was constantly nipping/puppy biting our hands feeds, anything she could get grip on. One thing that did work for us is to yell "OUCH" in a very high pitched voice which would startle her. Always have a chew toy handy like a rope twist and when she pulls away startled, replace your body part with the rope twist. This really does work a treat.

Even now when she gets a little excited whilst we're playing, she will still try to mouth me but all I need to do now is say "AH" short and sharp and she stops immediately and then licks my hand as if to say sorry mum forgot I shouldn't do that ;)

This type of behaviour is normal for all puppies but BC's being herding dogs have it a little more than others I believe.

Good luck with your new puppy - they are such a joy and challenge - but worth every bit of it. :)

Welcome to the Boards!

You will find a lot of good advice here for many issues (including biting puppies) by using the 'Search' function towards the top right hand portion of the page.