BC Boards

Friend or "sheep"?

As you made have read on a different thread, we rescued a lovely BC girl a couple of months ago. Everything is going fine, but I had a little incident this morning.

Normally, Seana friendly and a bit submissive with other dogs, so I usually let her "say hello" to dogs on our walks. This morning, however, was a different story. We approached a dog that's known to be very friendly. Seana would normally just keep a fairly low profile and participate in the normal sniffing and greeting ceremony.

But this time, as we approached about 30 feet away from the dog, she went into the typical "herding crouch" and locked her eyes on the other dog. Unfortunately I ignored this and let them say hello, which resulted in my dog growling pretty aggressively and snapping at the other dog. I was able to pull her away before anything bad happened.

As I'm still learning BC behavior, I'm wondering what happened here. Was the "incident" a result of her turning on the herding behavior and considering the other dog a "sheep" rather than a potential friend? Is the crouching at another dog a cue that I should stay away?

...or was she just plain naughty and needs to have her behavior corrected?

It is fairly normal with rescue dogs for them to not show their whole personality for quite a while after adoption. This may be her deciding she is more confident and can be the boss or any number of different things. Your building bond with her is still new, so you don't want to correct in any way that might scare her, but you do not want to let her think that this new behavior is OK either. Try making sure that you bring a high value treat along on walks and when you see other dogs, start having her do what you would rather she do, like watch me or sit, or turn around and walk the other way, but distract her from the bad behavior and encourage the good.