BC Boards

How to Keep Attention

I just got a 4 year-old who is wonderful: fun, easy to work with, attentive, etc. I have one significant problem; she lives for two things: chaseing squirrels and chaseing balls. When she is focused on a squirrel or chaseing it, I cannot get her attention; when she is off-leash, it can be very dangerous as she will run far and wide. When she has a ball, she will come but will not drop it.

How can I train her to pay attention, to come when called, and to drop the ball on command? Are there books that may help?

I live in Tampa, Fla. Does anyone know of a good trainer or classes in the area that I can take?

Thanks for the help.

OK Ron I do have a couple of suggestions. Bear in mind I'm no expert but I have heard this method used in different scenarious so it could be worth a try regarding the squirrels! Now I'm from Australia so my 1yr old Border Collie Chelsea has never seen a squirrel, but she does have a tendency to give the odd kangaroo a run for its money now and then. I live in a major city in Oz but have a small weekender about 40 minutes away. It's a tiny little fishing village and we are right on the water. The kangaroos are wild and there are plenty of them and they just come and graze in the back yard, lay under the tree out the back and even sometime go for a swim in the calm waters of the passage. Chelsea is so used to them now that she doesn't pay them too much attention. However, this is my suggestion for you.

You need to put you're dog on a very long rope and when she sees the squirrel off she goes until WAMO!!!! end of the rope. Call her immediately she reaches the end of the rope and bring her back to you and reward her with food and praise! praise! praise! her for coming back. Don't scold her for running off! I think in no time the squirrel chasing will be a thing of the past. Let me know what you think!