BC Boards

Tips and suggestions...

SS Cressa

For let me make clear this is NOT for me!

My brother has a sibling to my pup. He has started putting his pup with cattle. I am just looking for any type of articles or videos I can send him to help. Weither its clear reasons not to let the pup be with the cattle or ideas that will make it the safest for the pup. Pup is 5 months old.

He doesn't go online(no access). Also he knows I am a novice.

He does plan on sending his pup out to get trained when his pup is older.

I was thinking of ordering him some magizines so he has some idea on what to do. Any ideas on which ones?

Or mailing him a video... any suggestions?

My brother is used to cattle and regually helps with the chores on the farm. He also routinely helps round cattle up with man power for calving, auction, meds... etc.

This is the first dog he will have *trained* though. He did used to have a border collie that would help out a little... But he didn't get her till she already had a basic understanding of commands(sit, down, stay) and she was 2 years old when he got her.

I am just looking for tools to help them out for a better success.

Would he be willing to buy a book? Or could you buy one for him? If so, I'd recommend Anna Guthrie's Working with a Stockdog. It's meant to be a practical guide for farmers who want to use their dogs on the farm. You can get it at Outrun Press.

Your brother needs to understand that a cow can kill a full grown dog with a well-placed kick. A pup, who isn't as quick and doesn't have the self control of a trained adult is just a target waiting to be maimed or killed. If the farm has some calves that are relatively tame, he could start his pup on them, but no 5-month old pup has any business being in with non-dog-broke cattle, not if your brother values his dog's life.