BC Boards

When should I start training?

I think it's okay to start training on things that aren't extremely physical, like jumps. Your BC is still growing, and thier bones aren't fully developed, and you could cause irreversible damage on the legs. I am not an expert though, and I'm new to the Border Collie world, so please correct me if I'm wrong.

Jessica

I'm certainly no expert on puppies either, but 12 weeks is AWFULLY young to do very much. You say she "knows obedience." Again, I'm not a puppy expert, but my guess is, she's at that age, when she'll do ANYTHING you ask, because you ARE her world. Obedience is certainly necessary for agility, but there are also many "stages" of it, and something you need to continue working on forever. (Believe me, this IS the voice of experience....a 4 month old puppy almost always comes when you call....then a few months later, discovers the "other" world, which isn't you, and that recall becomes less reliable by the day!) Have you gone to obedience puppy classes? That's another good way to socialize the dog, as well as helping you learn how to teach her things.