BC Boards

quit agility

I started agiltiy with my smooth hair border collie last summer and have entered one novice trial, where she ran without any course faults but was terribly slow. She doesn't have any drive and others advised she was a "soft dog". My wife says she does agility just to please me, but I got into it because I thought she needed a chalenge as I was told BC's are so smart etc. Should I just give up if she's not reallly enjoying it, or keep spending money?

Does she have a spark in her eyes when it is time to work? I just got my bc, he is 7 months old, but when it is time to learn something new, he sparks up, and is excited. Perhaps she is just bored with the activity you have chosen for her. Or perhaps it isn't enough of a challenge for her. I am new with this border collie experience, so I have no real advise to give you. Good luck with your girl.

Jerry: I probably shouldn't reply to this....I'm sure there are folks out there who would tell you 'I' should have quit a long time ago.....but I didn't, and I'm glad.

And this got kinda long...

You don't say how old your dog is - that may (or may not...) make a difference. What do you use for motivation? rewards? (They ARE different!)

What turns your dog on more than anything else in the world - chasing a ball or frisbee? eating liver treats? getting praise from you? You really need ONE of these things to work best, though you should, theoretically, be using all of them.